Is your profession a portrait of you?

“Every man’s work, whether it be literature or music or pictures or architecture or anything else, is always a portrait of himself.”

~ Samuel Butler (1835-1902) English Writer

Are you doing the job you really want to do in life? When people see you at work, see what you produce, see how you do it, is it a true reflection of you? If not, change your profession/career or change yourself so that they match. Then you can begin living a happier life by doing what you like and liking what you do. Life is too short for anything less.

3 responses to “Is your profession a portrait of you?

  1. Hi, Jim, I’m really confused at this moment. Several minutes ago, I received my father’s call, he called me to go home to be a teacher. I’m a overseas sales staff at present, the teacher occupation is far different from my existed job. I don’t mean how much i like the sales staff job or how much i don’t like the teacher job. As I’m aslo upset when talking about sales staff experience, I don’t know why there are not many clients after 6 months hard work, it’s because our company product or my personal or both?

    How can I choose the two jobs? your article of “is your profession a portait of you” maybe a guide , but unfortunately, I don’t understand myself even, how can I judge it?

    Jim, what a contradictory person, am I? Right?

    Mary

    • Hi Mary. I know exactly how you feel about your job situation. Your current job as a salesperson is giving you self-doubt about the profession you have chosen and now your father is encouraging you to take a teaching job. I can tell you that being a salesperson is not an easy job. It can take years to develop a good client base and you must face lots of rejection from people/companies who are not interested in buying your company’s products or services. I suggest you follow your heart and do what you want to do. If you like being a salesperson then continue in that profession. Maybe you just need to find a new job with a better company that is more suited for you. If you really want to teach and please your father, then you should try that. Either one is a good choice if you are qualified but only you can choose which one is best for you. Listening to other people’s suggestions about which career path you should follow should only be used a guide for you but not a definitive answer. Best of luck to you in your difficult decision.

  2. Hi Jim, I’m really moved and excited when read this letter. You said it!
    I’ve made a decision, I’ll resign my current job at present company in April,and then go home for Hongkong and Marco Pass,at home I can have a sincere & serious talk with my parents,wish they can understand me,believe me and support me. I guess I’ll have a relaxed,happy holiday at home.
    Then restart to find my new job, I will be stick to my salesperson, Just as you suggest, I want to find a company which is more suited for me.
    Thank u for your best wishes. Hope my profession will be the portrait of myself.
    Mary

Go ahead...Write something. Your opinions are welcome.

