How much is life worth?

Tenzin Gyatso gives a characteristic hands-rai...

Dalai Lama

The Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him most about humanity, said:

“Man. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”

Live each day to its fullest and never be a slave to money or anything else that sacrifices friendships, health, love and life’s simple pleasures. These are the very things you will remember the most at the end of your life – NOT how much money you have or how popular you are. Live and love for today and in the moment!

13 responses to “How much is life worth?

  1. this is exactly the words i have been waiting to hear! this is a sign! you have been a sign from destiny! i’m going to make a major life decision right now, to be implemented tomorrow thanks to this very post! i have a number of things bothering me lately that it’s been hard for me to come up with my final decision but reading this just helped me find the path that i should take. thanks you so much for posting this at the right time!

    • I pleased to hear from you John and even more pleased that you got a confirmation today from something I wrote. This is the very thing that inspires me to write. I hope that the choice you make today based on my blog posting will benefit many others in many ways. Peace!

  2. oh seriously, this post of yours is stuck in my head and like i said, i am sure now what i want to do with my life, thanks to this post.i want to write about it a while ago, but i thought i didn’t have anything better to say about such a perfect post. seriously, you just completely changed one person’s(me) world view with just this one post, no bullshit. i know you just quoted it from the dalai lama, but if you didn’t post it, i never would have gotten to read it at the right moment. thanks you many times over!

  3. You’re welcome. Change is good when we are motivated to do something for ourselves and others. I encourage you to read my other posts in the hope that you will make more changes for the better.

  4. oh i will! i just subscribed last night remember? i’ll be following your every post!

  5. Pingback: How To Live To The Fullest « Jonel Fernando.com

  6. Pingback: Questions On Life And Death | Jonel Fernando.com

  7. Aw. I really like this. The saying from the Dali Lama especially. Some sayings are so simple, but so wise and profound.

  8. I’m exactly where I am in life to understand his wisdom. Thank you so much for sharing, James. I loved it so much that I’ve shared on Facebook.

    Keep the good stuff coming,

    Jean

  9. You’re welcome Jean. I’m glad you enjoy what I have written. I suggest you subscribe to my blog and then the “good stuff” will come to you all the time. Thanks a lot for sharing this post on Facebook.

  10. I’ve already subscribed. Don’t want to let any of the good stuff spill. :-)

  11. Would that the world would wake up and take note of those words.

  12. True words of wisdom (~_~)

Go ahead...Write something. Your opinions are welcome.

