Starry, starry night

The following quotes all come from one of my favorite painters and philosophers, Vincent van Gogh. In 1998, my mother, her best friend and I were fortunate enough to see a very special art exhibition in Los Angeles at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) that showcased most all of his major and minor paintings in one location. It was the first and only time all his works from the Van Gogh family museum in Amsterdam were brought together with all his great paintings in America. It was amazingly fun to see so many of his great works close-up and personal. His character and talent were uniquely awesome and inspiring! I’ll never forget that day as I witnessed some of the greatest works of art by a true innovator.

“The best way to know God is to love many things.”

“If one is master of one thing and understands one thing well, one has at the same time, insight into and understanding of many things.”

“The more I think about it, the more I realize there is nothing more artistic than to love others.”

“Love is something eternal; the aspect may change, but not the essence.”

“Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together.”

“Conscience is a man’s compass.”

“What would life be if we had no courage to attempt anything?”

~ Vincent van Gogh

One response to “Starry, starry night

  1. “The more I think about it, the more I realize there is nothing more artistic than to love others.”
    Great mind.
    I don’t know about painting and artists well, but I respect the great passion of Van Gogh.

Go ahead...Write something. Your opinions are welcome.

