Let true tolerance be your teacher

“I believe with all my heart that civilization has produced nothing finer than a man or woman who thinks and practices true tolerance.”

~Frank Knox

If you really want to mature as a person both mentally and spiritually, then learn to accept the things you cannot change nor ever had to cope with before in your life. I’ve had to do these very things since I moved to China in 2006. Growing up a certain way your entire life isolates you from the how the rest of the world really is. During my 5 years in China, I have had to learn new cultural habits, accept things I detested all my life, and live among people who I never encountered before growing up in southern California. I can honestly say that in my attempt to become more tolerant, I have found my true identity through seeing both my core strengths and weaknesses revealed. The effect will live with me for the rest of my life and I believe it has made me a better man.

One response to “Let true tolerance be your teacher

  1. I’ve learned the same thing over time, especially about accepting what I can’t change/control. This was an uphill battle for me at work and I gave myself nothing but stress and frustration.

Go ahead...Write something. Your opinions are welcome.

